Skip to content

Ouch

October 21, 2013

“Christ,” my friend stops and stares. She points to the bruises on my leg. “What happened to you?”

“Oh, kickboxing,” I tell her.

“Kickboxing?! I thought you were doing boxing!”

I explain to her that I thought I was too, but mistakenly walked into the wrong class when I went to the gym again.

“Your partner must have been kicking you really hard!”

“No, no,” I clarify. “These were from a pad.”

“You bruised yourself kicking a pad.”

“Yep.”

She takes a moment to digest this.

“I don’t think kickboxing is the right sport for you.”

I want to counter that maybe the bruises show how powerful my kicks were. But it is two hours too late by the time I come up with my response.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

