Skip to content

Happy Blender Day

September 20, 2009

Blender Day!

I wake up with a huge smile and fling the covers off. Badger tries to hang on to what’s left on his side but I manage to rip the duvet away from his slackarse fingers. There will be no sleeping in today, mister, not on Blender Day!

I bundle Badger into the shower and into fresh clothes. Still half-awake, he tries to keep up as I race to the car.

Blender, here we come!

I can barely keep my excitement in check as the glass doors whoosh open. I want to sing out our arrival, Good morning, David Jones! The merchandise can sense my exuberance. They sparkle and glow in reply. Each item calls back to me, Buy me!

But no, I resist. After all, it is not Dustbuster Day. Neither is it Juicer Day or even Super Cool Salt ‘n Pepper Shakers Day. Those days will come soon enough but today does not belong to them. Today, Badger and I are on a mission for a very specific item.

“Can I help you?”

Yes! I happily follow the salesperson to the blender section while Badger trudges along behind us. What a wet blanket! It’s as if he hasn’t heard my countless descriptions of the soups and smoothies and dips that a blender can make! Sometimes, I find that man hard to understand.

Difficult as it is, I make my choice. The salesperson rings it up on the till and I am finally the proud owner of a blender! Peanut Butter ‘n Banana smoothies galore! My happiness must be infectious (despite Badger’s apparent imperviousness) because the salesperson grins with me.

“Wow,” he chuckles. “You must really like your gadgets. What’s next?”

I haven’t decided yet. Maybe I’ll go crazy next weekend and buy a waffle iron! But until then…

Happy Blender Day, internet!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 4:54 pm

    happy blender day to u..

  2. September 20, 2009 6:25 pm

    Hehehe…

    I got myself a blender a couple of days ago! It’s now the single most fun kitchen appliance I own. I christened it with an ice blended peanut butter chocolate latte. Screw Starbucks! And the cocktails…..the endless possibilities!

    I don’t know why I didn’t get one earlier….

    • September 20, 2009 7:15 pm

      Hooray, great minds think alike! Is there even a Starbucks in Hicksville? 😉

      Your peanut butter choc latte sounds awesome! Did you get the recipe online or have you been creating your own concoctions (e.g., frog tongue soup, pig eye dip)?

  3. September 21, 2009 2:05 am

    Eh eh don’t play…my Hicksville got TWO Starbucks, TWO Secret Recipes, ONE Sushi King, and even one of those fancy doughnut places…hur hur hur…

    No no I don’t dig recipe books. The ego shall not allow this. The fun is actually in the experimenting. Open your fridge, see what you have and throw in what ever you think would taste good. Originally it was a choc latte…then I saw the bottle of peanut butter and thought “Ah, what the hell…”

    • September 22, 2009 10:30 pm

      FUI YOH! Eh, surely your place can’t be considered a Hicksville with all that around. Here I was imagining you forced to eat at a roadside mamak every time you go out for a meal!

      Tsk tsk tsk…you’ll know what went wrong when you end up with an upset tummy!! I am an obedient slave to recipes. If a recipe calls for 1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika, then BY GOD, that is what I will use! That way, if something is shit, I can blame it on Donna Hay, lol!

      • September 23, 2009 10:22 pm

        I experimented making my own salad cream just now. With the blender, of course.

        It’s got yogurt, minced garlic (lots of it), black pepper, sesame oil and some lemon. I tell you, the fun is with the experiments.

        • September 26, 2009 10:01 pm

          Fun eh? Fun in the toilet maybe? :p I remember your fb wall post earlier this week about food poisoning! Ho ho ho!

          • September 27, 2009 10:54 am

            Eh what no! I didn’t get food poisoning!

            I said, ” What doesn’t give you food poisoning makes you a better cook”

            I messed up coffee spare ribs. Tasted kinda crap. But lesson learnt there! Not too much coffee!

  4. September 21, 2009 4:08 am

    Happy Blender Day to you!

    oh, and how i reminisce about going to david jones… brings back memories.

    • September 22, 2009 10:31 pm

      Lol, I’m putting together a David Jones list to tick off once I get a proper job!

Leave a Reply

