Skip to content

Nuts!

June 1, 2009

I crack open a pistachio.

Mmm, a salty-sweet explosion on my tongue. Crunch, crunch, crunch. I love pistachios. Especially stolen ones from Badger’s stash.

He thought that he could hide them from me by storing them on a high shelf. But he forgot that chairs were invented for that very reason.

Badger does not usually hide things away from my sticky fingers but he got annoyed after I polished off his pistachios one too many times. It is not my fault. I am addicted to the little green suckers. My addiction is an illness, for which I cannot be blamed. I saw it on South Park so it must be true.

I gorge on my loot. I get to the end and am left with four stubborn pistachios. They refuse to yield their treasure, resisting my every attempt to pry them out. Do they not realise that they are denying the very reason for their existence? For what use is a pistachio, if not to be consumed?

I will not be beaten by these pistachios. There will be an almighty row when Badger gets home, so I am determined to wring every last drop of satisfaction from my act of thievery. Maybe I shouldn’t have taken quite so many…I wonder if he counts them.

I renew my attack. Fingernails, teeth and knife are all used but to no avail. The only results I have to show for my efforts are a gashed thumb and very sore fingers. I swallow my pride and ask for help.

I google How to open a stubborn pistachio?

And in 0.34 seconds, I have my answer. I demolish the now-defenceless nuts with ease.

Ah Google, you’ve done it again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2009 11:46 pm

    I just throw away the ones without an opening at the end.

    And get totally frustrated when I find out that all of ’em in the bag are like that!

  2. Vimalan permalink
    June 2, 2009 12:35 am

    what did he do when he found out u stole his loot?

  3. June 2, 2009 8:46 am

    At least you never gave up! 🙂 I bought an entire bag once and almost drove myself insane trying to pry the nuts open.

    • June 2, 2009 10:08 pm

      I would have felt so stressed out too! As it is, I was already tearing my hair out with just four stubborn nuts!

      Can you imagine how lost I would feel if I was unable to access the internet?

  4. June 9, 2009 11:57 am

    Ah! Very resourceful of you!

  5. July 28, 2009 11:34 pm

    Google and I are *like this*. <—Imagine crossed fingers or yau char kwai

Leave a Reply

