Skip to content

Milkmilk from the Couscous

May 13, 2009

I buy a cookbook.

My culinary skills have been steadily developing. Frozen pizza and nuggets no longer jostle each other for space in my freezer. I can now whip up a mean chicken curry from scratch.

Despite this, my repertoire of dishes is sadly limited. The dinner menu is recycled every week. Even Badger has ventured a comment or two about it. A bit rich coming from a man who can just about manage pasta with reheated sauce from a jar, but I can see his point.

What’s needed is a collection of step-by-step instructions to creating a range of quick and easy, yet tasty meals. Enter Donna Hay.

Glossy pages full of vibrant photographs accompanying recipes like Moroccan-spiced Baked Lamb and Spiced Chicken & Chorizo Couscous. The only way this book could be more enticing is if the pictures were scratch-n-sniff. And although the food presentation looks a little advanced (arranging linguine into clover-shaped swirls is pushing it), the recipes themselves look easy enough for a kitchen retard to follow.

Right, I am inspired. To hell with stroganoff, we’re eating one of Donna’s dinners tonight!

I make myself a cup of tea and settle down to choose a recipe for Badger to cook.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 9:41 pm

    So, I guess, you’re one of the people who live to eat eh? 🙂 I’m one of them too, although I’m yet to learn to bake and to cook (instant noodles and eggs aside). Speaking of which, that’s one of the many impossible things I have on the to-do list for my summer break, hah!

    Googled some images with the term Donna Hay. Mmm, they’re making me hungry!

    p/s: Thanks for dropping by my blog. I chuckled a little when I saw a Gmail notification telling me that I have a new comment from ‘Chubby Zebra’ – what an adorable name!

    • May 14, 2009 6:04 pm

      Yes, food’s always top priority! Just like it is for most Malaysians, lol! Well, you don’t really need to learn to cook in M’sia. Not when super cheap char kway teow, hokkien mee, nasi lemak, banana leaf rice…I’m drooling onto the keyboard…is just around the corner.

      And thanks! 🙂 Chubby zebras are a lot more fun to draw than skinny ones!

Leave a Reply

