Skip to content

Enter the Dragon

May 10, 2009

I learn kung fu again.

It is only my first month but everything comes flooding back to me. It is clear that I am pretty talented. Kung fu must be in my blood, just like table tennis and dim sum. I am surprised that the instructor does not point me out to the other students but he probably does not want to publicly upstage those who have been training longer than I have.

I attack the punching bag in a flurry of punches and kicks. If this had been a real person, I would have kung fu-ed him deader than dead.

The instructor stops me, “Whoa, whoa! Slow down there! Take it one move at a time. Accuracy over speed, ok?”

I am a little confused, but then he smiles at me. Ah, I understand. He wants me to slow down so the other students can watch and learn from me. I grin conspiratorially back.

We move on to kicking drills. I concentrate on my technique. Lift my knee, aim, and use my hips to channel force into an explosive kick. My foot becomes a weapon of mass destruction. SMACK! The bag cries out in agony.

“Try to put some power into your kick, I want to see that bag move.” The instructor again. He calls out in my general direction but he can’t be talking to me. My bag moved at least 3cm. So the instructor must be addressing the guy beside me. The poor guy is trying really hard but he has the kicking ability of a jellyfish.

Poor Jellyfish Legs. Maybe I should give him a few tips later.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Vimalan permalink
    May 10, 2009 8:56 pm

    Tolong-lar, one push from me and u be out cold. ha ha ha

    • May 12, 2009 8:56 pm

      Hah! I’d like to see you say that to my face instead of shouting it from across the country!!

  2. jun permalink
    May 11, 2009 2:41 pm

    have you been watching too much Wolverine? I bet you have. Coz I have. lOLOLOl

    • May 12, 2009 8:56 pm

      No I haven’t watched it yet! Aarggghhh!! My sexy Hugh, I haven’t abandoned you!

  3. Cheryl permalink
    July 7, 2009 12:30 am

    How self-delusional can one get? =P

Leave a Reply

