Skip to content

More Pain

January 22, 2009

The needle descends.

I squeak and immediately shut my mouth.

The dentist sighs. “Taking the anaesthetic will hurt a lot less than having your wisdom tooth extracted without it.” She looks at my father for support.

“Go on, open your mouth. I have a meeting in two hours.”

I glare at him. This is not moral support. He’s meant to give me encouragement and reassurance, not remind me how he had to postpone work to accompany me to the dentist. He offers me his hand. I cling to it with both of mine. Much better.

The dentist lowers the syringe again. As soon as the needle touches my gum, I yelp and squeeze my dad’s hand as hard as I can. But quick as a flash, the needle is withdrawn. Good, because I was just about to scream.

“Ok,” the dentist smiles brightly at me. “The painful part of the procedure is over. The rest won’t hurt a bit!”

I do not believe her. She is going to cut me open and forcibly wrench a tooth from my jawbone. A procedure so severe that I will need stitches. I expect bucketloads of pain.

The numbness sets in, spreading from my jaw to only my right ear. I wish my whole head was encased in its blanket of cottony security.

“Before we start, I need you to move somewhere else,” the dentist tells my father. “You’re blocking my assistant.” My father pries me off his hand and walks behind me.

The dentist turns to me. “And you need to put your knees down and scoot up a bit.” I am huddled miserably on the chair and am fidgeting so much that the operating light is now two inches above my head.

“Right, here we go!” she announces.

I let out a half-sob and squeeze my eyes shut. I feel my father’s hand on my shoulder, but I do not know whether it is there to comfort me or to hold me down. I am reminded of another dentist’s idea of a joke, “Hold on to the chair!”

The anaesthetic must be magic. There is no pain. But there is something else just as bad. The whining of the drill, the gurgling of blood being sucked away, and the nauseating sound of metal gripping bone. I can hear it all. And over it, loud and clear, the dentist keeps a running commentary of the procedure.

“…I’m just cutting your gum a little…”

I try to tell her that I really don’t need to know what she’s doing. But my mouth is so full of instruments that I can only moan unintelligibly.

“…I’m splitting your tooth in half now, you can take it home later if you like…”

I wish they had knocked me out.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 1:10 pm

    Oh good god, I HATE dentists! I’ve got a tooth missing half a filling that needs to be replaced and I’m dreading it 😦

  2. Chubby Zebra permalink
    January 22, 2009 1:26 pm

    Oh no!!! Do you need me to hold your hand?

  3. January 22, 2009 2:24 pm

    Ah yes, I remember my teeth extraction experiences well. Had local for the first one and forced my mother to come in and hold my hand (I think I was 19 at the time, LOL). She sat cringing in the corner and had to listen to all the gory bits. The second time I was knocked out. It was much better, but I regret not being able to enjoy my visit to hospital (it’s like staying at a hotel, with room service included!)

    But you’ll be all recovered in time to eat those Chinese New Year goodies, right?

  4. Chubby Zebra permalink
    January 22, 2009 3:14 pm

    Only if there are any goodies left! There are freshly baked jam tarts in the kitchen right now, but all I can do is look longingly at them. A week of porridge!! During the reunion dinner! How will I survive?!! T-T

  5. Raihana permalink
    January 22, 2009 6:33 pm

    Oh. Good. God.

    That doesn’t sound pleasant at all. You couldn’t have waited to do this until AFTER Chinese New Year?!

  6. Chubby Zebra permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:21 am

    I have to fly to Perth too soon after CNY. Lucky I’ve eaten most of the stuff on my list!

  7. January 23, 2009 2:34 pm

    arggh…i hate it..

    well i have both wisdom growing on my top gum..
    funny that i don feel the pain or anything.. and its there growth out beautifully..

    however not much space so brushing is a problem = might cause problem in future

    equal i should have gotten it out .. 😦

  8. Chubby Zebra permalink
    January 23, 2009 4:52 pm

    They’re growing out by themselves? So lucky!!! Mine was growing at an angle, so it was pushing against the molar next to it. The dentist “strongly recommended” that I get it out, so like that lor.

    Apparently you can get even up to all four out in one go if you like. But at my level of terror, the dentist said that she judged me to be capable of only one. So malu!

    So far, the injection has still been the most painful part of the whole process. Healing doesn’t hurt much (touch wood!), and it’s just the inconvenience of not being able to eat proper food that’s troubling me now.

    So don’t be too scared if you have to get yours out in the end. More importantly, don’t let the amount of fear in my post affect you – remember that I’m a MASSIVE coward when it comes to doctors and dentists!

Leave a Reply

