Skip to content

Silent Misery

August 11, 2008

I point to item #5.

“Wonton soup,” the waitress reads out. “For one or two?”

I hold up two fingers.

“Two, ok.”

I point to item #31.

The order is checked off. “Claypot five spice gravy beef.”

This would be much easier if I could talk but I have lost my voice. Badger says it’s because I whinged too much about being sick but I know not to trust him. If anything, losing my voice just shows how terribly sick I am. It’s a pity that it’s the weekend because there’s very little point in being sick if you can’t miss classes or work over it.

Back to the food. I point to the next desired item.

“Deep fried chicken with butter and pepper sauce.” The waitress frowns. “This isn’t very healthy. Are you sure you want this?”

I nod emphatically.

“Hmm, I’m not sure. Do you like steamed chicken with ginger and shallots?”

I screw my face up in disgust. No thanks, I believe in the healing power of buttery fried chicken grease!

The waitress looks to Badger for support. “The steamed chicken’s much healthier. I don’t think she should be eating deep fried chicken with her throat in that state.”

To my horror, Badger agrees. “You’re right. Let’s get that one then.”

I wave my arms and jab hard at the much tastier, deep fried option. We’re getting this one! THIS ONE! But it’s hard to override a decision, however ridiculous it might be, when you can’t drown out the other person’s voice.

I spend the next fifteen minutes glaring at Badger. As I recall, the sick person get’s spoilt. Obviously, Badger’s got a lot of learning ahead of him.

The waitress returns with our food. As she hands the bag to Badger, she throws in another ‘helpful’ nugget. “Don’t give her any prawn crackers! They’re bad for sore throats too!”

Badger grins wickedly at me.

I am not impressed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 12:01 pm

    What an… interfering waitress!

  2. vimalan permalink
    August 15, 2008 5:00 pm

    greasy goodness is always good

  3. Chubby Zebra permalink
    August 19, 2008 8:35 pm

    Paul: I know! Badger loved it though, potato head that he is.

    Vimalan: Yes, fight fire with fire!

Leave a Reply

