Skip to content

Birthday Fun

August 3, 2008

It is very quiet in the early morning.

“Presents!” I pounce onto Badger.

His startled eyes fly open to find me nose-to-nose and grinning madly. He groans, speech sleep-slurred, “Alright, alright. Happy birthday.”

“Pre-sents! Pre-sents! Pre-sents!” I cling to him like a limpet and rock the bed from side to side with each syllable.

“Christ, you little bugger! Let me sleeeeeep,” he moans.

He tries to dislodge me but I catch his wrists and fight back. “PRESENTS!!” I yell in his ear.

With a strangled growl, he rolls over and pins me down. He wraps his arms around my wriggling body and hangs on grimly, desperately trying to salvage a few minutes more of sleep.

PREEEEEEESEEEEEEEEEEEENTS!” I howl into the mattress.

Birthday haul from Badger

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Elbi permalink
    August 3, 2008 9:37 pm

    I love Shaun Tan, especially The Red Tree. You lucky bugger!!! 🙂 Hapity Birfday! Still working on you gift but the cogs are in motion.

  2. August 4, 2008 10:28 am

    Oh my god look at that haul! SO spoiled. Happy birthday!!!

  3. Chubby Zebra permalink
    August 4, 2008 8:27 pm

    Elbi: My fave is The Arrival! Was so ecstatic when I saw it! The reunion bit gets me all fuzzy every time. And don’t worry about the present if you haven’t got one yet. 🙂 Was really pleased that you made it to the oxford. Thanks for coming!

    Laynie: Spoilt?! Never! And thanks for the birthday wishes!!

  4. August 10, 2008 9:16 pm

    wow a skateboard, that’s awesome 😀
    can you do tricks?
    me and my buddies gave up skateboarding after failing to learn the ollie. haha

  5. Chubby Zebra permalink
    August 10, 2008 10:09 pm

    Haha at the height of my skateboarding days, I was able to drop in on a quarter pipe (woot! Lol). I’ve since lost my nerve and teenage bouncing ball-ness. Now I’m relatively confident as long as it’s a straight, smooth road with no obstacles. Hahaha!

  6. August 13, 2008 12:03 pm

    Ooh hunk in second last pic -wearing jacket.
    Ooh hunk in last pic – wearing glasses.

Leave a Reply

